h1

Hello world!

January 3, 2008

Welcome to my new blog. Since this is my first post I thought I would tell you a little about me.

I’m a 51 year old father and husband who has been interested in photography since before my teen years. I got my first camera as part of a Secret Sam spy toy for Christmas in the mid 1960s. The first pictures I ever took were of the Kentucky Dam and were taken with this camera. By 1968 I had a Kodak Instamatic 104 with that neat little rotating flash cube. Remember those?

During my junior high-school days I had a complete B&W darkroom setup in my bedroom closet and I could develop my own film and prints. I spend many of an hour in that closet doing enlargements of my images. I was also the photographer for the school newspaper and some of my images ended up in the school yearbook. As the newspaper photographer I had access to the “real” cameras owned by the school – a Mamiya Sekor 100 DTL and an older Richoflex TLR that I used for all of my photos.

By the time I joined the Army in 1979 I owned a Pentax K1000 which I later upgraded to a Canon AE1. I got away from photography for a while sometime in the mid 1980s I purchased a Nikon FG20 and a N5005 ( I still have this camera but is has a sticky curtain so I don’t use it). However family and career caught up with me and my hobby got set aside for more pressing matters.

About 2 years ago the bug caught up with me again and I went digital with a Canon Digital Rebel and started taking photos again. This lasted for a while before my career again took up most of my time and my photo taking died off considerably as I was only documenting things like birthdays and other life events.

Late last year I decided that I needed some kind of stress outlet and my interest in photography came pouring back. I purchased a a Canon PowerShot SD870 IS so that I would have a point and shoot camera that I could easily carry everywhere I go. I now carry this in a cell phone case on my belt so I am never without a camera. I still have the Rebel and it’s accessories (see the My Equipment page) that I use when I’m on some kind of assignment.

I’m not in this for the money but rather for the enjoyment and my own growth as a photographer. My interests are varied and I shoot everything that interests me. I’ll be using this blog to document my journey and display images that I shoot. Sometimes there will be something everyday and sometimes there won’t. It all depends on what I shoot and if I think it is good enough to include.

Leave a Reply

